Ann Telnaes Wins Big!

(WOMENSENEWS)-We just received this wonderful news and hope you are as excited as we are!

The National Press Foundation announced this week that Women's eNews cartoonist Ann Telnaes has been named the Berryman Cartoonist of the Year 2003, one of the most prestigious awards for editorial cartoonists. Telnaes draws a Commentoon for Women's eNews each week that is one of the site's most popular features.

Bob Meyers, president of the National Press Foundation, said judges admired Telnaes' ability to make sharp points on a wide variety of topics. “We thought her drawings were spare but elegant almost in a magazine style. Her breast implant cartoon was a wonderfully simple intersection of good artwork and strong opinions.”

Sandy Johnson, Washington bureau chief for the Associated Press, was chair of the committee that selected Telnaes to receive this recognition.

Others whose achievements will be recognized at the foundation's Feb. 19 award dinner are: Sandra Mims Rowe, editor of The Oregonian in Portland, to be given the George Beveridge Editor of the Year Award; Candy Crowley of CNN and John Cochran of Congressional Quarterly, to be given the Everett McKinley Dirksen Awards for Distinguished Coverage of Congress; Benjamin C. Bradlee, former executive editor of The Washington Post and currently the paper's editor at large, to be given the W.M. Kiplinger Distinguished Contributions to Journalism Award; and Anthony Marro, the retired editor of Newsday, to be given the Chairman's Citation for Overall Excellence in Journalism.

Established in 1975, the National Press Foundation is one of the nation's leading independent, nonprofit organizations dedicated to the professional development of working journalists. The foundation provides scholarships for journalists to attend seminars at the Wharton School of Business and administers other awards and endowments.